1. Contractanaut
  2. Compare
  3. vs Magic
Contractanaut vs Magic

Magic bills $540 a week. That is 13 charges a year, not 12.

Weekly pricing is unusual in this market and genuinely useful. It also changes the arithmetic, so work the year out before you set it next to a monthly number.

  • Updated 17 September 2026
  • Magic prices read from their site on 17 September 2026
  • 8 min read

At a glance

Both companies sell a dedicated person on a recurring fee, with no placement fee and nothing to pay before they start. Magic's figures below were read on their pricing page at getmagic.com on 17 September 2026. Where that page publishes nothing, the cell says so rather than filling the gap.

MagicContractanaut
What you're buyingA dedicated assistant on a managed subscription, billed weekly and charged every four weeks. A Teams product starts at three assistants.A dedicated, full-time, headhunted hire on one flat monthly rate. We contract and pay the person; you get one invoice.
Full-time price$540/week full-time for 40 hours a week. $2,160 per four-week cycle, 13 cycles a year, about $28,080 a year. Part-time $270/week for 20 hours.From $2,400/mo (assistants) to from $2,800/mo (finance). Engineering scoped on the call.
Paid before they startNothing. Their page says you pay when you start working with your assistant.$0. Your first month is charged on the start date.
CommitmentNo contracts, cancel anytime. No notice period is stated on their pricing page.Month to month. 30 days' written notice.
Time to first interview5 days to a working Magic Teams setup. Time to start on the individual plans is not published on their pricing page.48 hours to three availability-confirmed candidates. 4–7 days brief to first day of work on recent placements.
Who you meet before you commitNobody, before a call. No talent profiles are shown publicly on their site.Three named people, availability checked that week. Featured people are public and dated; no call needed to see them.
ReplacementNot published on their pricing page when we checked (17 September 2026). No replacement window, conditions or limit stated.Free, as many times as it takes. The four conditions are on the page, not in the terms.
RolesAssistant work on the individual plans, and Magic Teams for three or more people. Full-time and Teams plans include 24/7 coverage.Finance and accounting, operations and admin, executive assistants, SDR/BDR/CSR. Engineering and AI as a separate lane.
Where the talent isNot stated on their pricing page.Philippines, Latin America, Eastern Europe (Kosovo for finance), South Africa. Matched to the role, working your hours.
Training and knowledgeNot described on their pricing page when we checked (17 September 2026).AI tooling training before day one. An AI layer captures how the seat is done and coaches the person weekly, so a replacement inherits the playbook.
Magic figures read from their public pages on 17 September 2026. Prices change; check theirs before you decide. Ours are published on our pricing section and are full-time seats.

Where Magic is the better choice

Magic charges nothing before your assistant starts. Their pricing page, read on 17 September 2026, says you pay when you start working with the person, and there is no contract: you cancel when you want to. We match them on the first part and ask for 30 days' written notice on the second, so on exit terms alone they are looser than we are.

Weekly billing is real flexibility rather than a presentation choice. A month is a long time to be wrong about a hire. Paying in weeks caps the cost of a bad decision at one week of spend, and for a founder who has been through a hire that went sideways, that is worth something concrete.

Two more they win outright:

  • 24/7 coverage is included on full-time and Teams plans. Almost nobody in managed staffing offers that. If your business runs overnight, or you need somebody reachable on a Saturday, one person working your business hours (which is what we sell) simply does not cover it.
  • Magic Teams is ready to work in 5 days, starting at three assistants and custom-priced. If what you need is a small pod standing up quickly rather than one seat filled carefully, that is a faster route than a search.

And the headline reads cheap, because $540 a week sounds like a fraction of an employee. For general assistant work where a bad week costs you very little, that may be exactly the right purchase.

The core difference

Worked out across a full year, the two prices land close enough that price stops being the decision. What separates us is how much of the arrangement each company puts in writing on a public page, before you have spoken to anyone.

What each of us publishes

  • Where the person works from. We publish it: the Philippines for assistants, Latin America and Eastern Europe for sales and operations, Kosovo for finance and accounting, South Africa for sales, matched to the role and working your hours. Magic's pricing page does not state a talent geography, and we are not going to invent one on their behalf. Ask them, because the answer decides your hours overlap.
  • What happens if it does not work out. Ours is free replacement as many times as it takes, with four conditions published. Magic's pricing page carries no replacement or guarantee terms at all.
  • Who you meet before you commit. Three named people with availability confirmed that week, within 48 hours of your brief, and you choose. Magic shows no talent profiles publicly, so the first person you meet is the one allocated to you.
  • How deep the bench goes. Ours runs past assistant work into finance and accounting: bookkeeping, AP/AR, month-end close and reporting, from $2,800 a month. Operations and admin and SDR/BDR/CSR start from $2,500. Magic's individual plans are assistant work.

Underneath that there is a difference in how the person gets to you. We headhunt for the seat: candidates approached for your role, screened against your scope, availability re-confirmed in the week you are hiring. Then our AI layer trains them on the tooling before day one, including Claude Code, captures how the seat is actually done into a living playbook, and coaches the person against it weekly. It is knowledge capture and coaching, not monitoring, and it earns its keep the day somebody leaves, because the next person starts from the playbook instead of from your memory.

Three names before you spend anything

Bring us the role and we will put three availability-confirmed candidates in front of you within 48 hours, with nothing to pay until one of them starts.

Book a 20-minute call

What you get for the money

Take their number first, exactly as published. Full-time is $540 a week for 40 hours a week, billed every four weeks. Four weeks at $540 is $2,160. That figure looks like a monthly bill, so it gets multiplied by 12 and written into the budget as $25,920 a year.

A year holds 52 weeks, and 52 divided by 4 is 13. The charge arrives 13 times, not 12. $540 multiplied by 52 is $28,080. The gap between the budgeted number and the paid number is $2,160, which is one entire cycle. Magic states the four-week cycle on the page, so nothing is being concealed here. It is still the single most common arithmetic slip a buyer makes when setting a weekly price against monthly competitors.

The arithmetic $540 a week for 40 hours. $2,160 per four-week cycle. 13 cycles in a year. $28,080 a year, not $25,920. Part-time is $270 a week, on the same cycle.

Now set ours beside it. An executive or virtual assistant with us starts from $2,400 a month, which is from $28,800 a year. Against $28,080, that is roughly $720 across twelve months, about $60 a month. On the year, full-time Magic and a full-time seat from us are close to the same spend. Be careful with the word "from" on our side: it is a starting rate, and a more senior seat or a finance seat costs more, which is why every number on our pricing section carries it.

That is the part worth sitting with. The comparison most people run is $540 a week against $2,400 a month and it produces the wrong answer, because one of those numbers is annualised at 52 weeks and the other at 12 months. Once both are on the year, you are choosing between two similar bills, and the sensible question becomes what each one includes.

If you want the third number in the comparison, the one that is usually the real alternative, run our cost calculator. It works from the fully loaded cost of a US employee rather than the base salary, which is the step most people skip when they price an in-house hire against either of us.

Speed, and who you actually meet

Magic publishes one speed figure: a Teams setup ready to work in 5 days, on plans that start at three assistants. For the individual plans, the time from signing up to a person starting is not published on their pricing page when we checked (17 September 2026). It may well be quick. You just cannot plan around a number that is not there.

We publish ours and we define the term, because in this category everybody measures a different thing and calls it the same word. Time-to-fill means brief to first day of work. Three availability-confirmed candidates within 48 hours of the brief. On recent placements, 4 to 7 days from brief to first day. Measuring to the shortlist would make us look faster, and it would also be useless to you.

The bigger gap is who you meet. Magic's site shows no talent profiles before a call, so the assistant arrives already chosen. We send three named people, you interview them, and you pick one. For someone answering your phone at 9am Eastern, or reconciling a bank feed your CPA will read, most buyers want a say in that.

Availability is the detail that quietly goes stale everywhere in staffing. A candidate who was free when a recruiter last called them in July is not a candidate in September. We re-confirm availability every week, and the featured people on our front page are public and dated. You can look at people who are actually free this week without booking a call with anyone.

How your risk is covered

Magic's pricing page publishes no replacement or guarantee terms. Not a short window, not a limited one, none at all, when we checked on 17 September 2026. That may simply mean the policy lives somewhere else or is handled case by case on their support side. Either way, it is the one thing you should get in an email before you start, because it is the term that matters on your worst day rather than your first.

Picture that day. A bookkeeper starts on the 3rd, gets ten working days in, and goes quiet on the 28th with the month-end close four days out. What you need then is not goodwill from a support team. It is a rule you can point at.

Ours is free replacement as many times as it takes, and the four conditions are published on our guarantee section: the replacement is for the same role and scope; you gave the person defined work and written feedback; at least 10 working days have passed before a request; and after three replacements either side can walk away on the standard 30 days' written notice. Every guarantee in this market has conditions. Publishing them is the part that gives you something to hold.

Security, plainly

We are not going to make security claims you have no way to check. What we do is specific: an NDA before any access, logins created and owned by you rather than by us, and same-day offboarding when a person leaves the seat. Magic's pricing page does not describe its security posture, so if you handle regulated data, put the question to both of us and compare the answers in writing.

One claim neither of us should make at you is an acceptance rate. Magic describes its talent as the top 0.5%, and figures like that are published across this whole category without a denominator, which makes them impossible to test. We make no such claim, and if we ever do, discount it.

Which one should you pick?

Choose Magic if

  • You need coverage overnight or at weekends, not one person on your business hours.
  • You want to be able to stop paying at the end of a week, with nothing committed in advance.
  • The work is general assistant work, and a week of it going badly costs you very little.
  • You are standing up three or more assistants at once and want them working within about a week.

Choose Contractanaut if

  • The seat touches money: bookkeeping, AP/AR, month-end close, or reporting your CPA will read.
  • You want the replacement rule in writing, with its conditions, before you sign anything.
  • You need to know which country the person works from, for hours overlap or for what you have promised your own clients.
  • You want to interview three named people and choose one, rather than be assigned someone.

Questions people ask when comparing

How much does Magic cost per month?

Magic bills weekly and charges every four weeks. Full-time is $540 a week for 40 hours, which is $2,160 per four-week cycle, read on their pricing page on 17 September 2026. Part-time is $270 a week for 20 hours. Because a year holds 13 four-week cycles, full-time works out at about $28,080 a year rather than $25,920.

Is Magic legit?

Yes. Magic is an established managed assistant company that publishes its rates openly, asks for no contract, and charges nothing until you start working with your assistant. Two things are worth asking for in writing before you start: the replacement terms, which are not on their pricing page, and the country your assistant works from, which is also not stated.

What is the difference between Magic and Contractanaut?

Magic sells a dedicated assistant billed weekly, with 24/7 coverage on full-time plans. We headhunt one person for one seat, send three availability-confirmed candidates within 48 hours, publish our replacement conditions and our talent geography, and start from $2,400 a month. Our bench also covers finance and accounting, operations and sales roles, not assistant work alone.

Does Magic have a replacement guarantee?

No replacement or guarantee terms are published on Magic's pricing page, which is where their rates and plan details sit, checked on 17 September 2026. Ask them for the policy in writing before you start. Our replacement is free as many times as it takes, with four conditions published on our guarantee section so you can read them before signing.

Sources and how this page was written

We read Magic's public pages ourselves on 17 September 2026 and quote what they publish, not what a third party says about them. We describe their claims rather than reproduce their copy. If something here is out of date, tell us and we'll correct it. Our own numbers come from our pricing section and our published guarantee.

  1. 01Magic plans, weekly rates, four-week billing cycle, commitment, coverage and Teams timeline, getmagic.com/pricing, read 17 September 2026
  2. 02Contractanaut prices and guarantee conditions, contractanaut.com/#pricing, published and current on 17 September 2026
Book a 20-minute call

Your posting is live.
Your shortlist could be too.

Bring the role. We'll bring three people who can start next week. If we can't fill it, we'll say so on the call.

  • $0 until they start
  • Interview in 48 hours
  • Unlimited free replacement